The short answer
They do different jobs, and many collectors use both. Use Midpoint before you submit: measure centering, get a grade estimate and see whether the PSA 10 price covers the fee. Use the PSA app to submit to PSA, track the order and verify certs.
Choose PSA app if
- You are ready to submit to PSA and track the order
- You want to verify a PSA cert or use the PSA Vault
- You sell through the PSA | eBay Store
Choose Midpoint if
- You want to know which cards are worth the $59.99+ PSA fee before you send them
- You want centering measured against PSA’s 55/45 standard for a 10
- You grade with BGS, CGC or TAG too
Feature by feature
| Feature | Midpoint | PSA app |
|---|---|---|
| Measures centering from a photo | Yesautomatic outer edge + print frame, 8 handles, ratios and mm | No |
| Estimates the grade (corners, edges, surface) | YesPSA, BGS, CGC and TAG estimates with subgrades | No |
| Identifies a card from a photo | Yes | Yes |
| Reads graded slab labels | YesPSA, BGS, CGC, TAG | Yesverifies PSA certs |
| Raw (ungraded) market prices | Yes | Yes |
| Graded prices (PSA, BGS, CGC…) | YesPSA, CGC, BGS, SGC, TAG by grade | Yes |
| Price history charts | Yes | Partlysales history |
| Price alerts | Yespush + email | Not stated |
| Collection value tracking | Yes | Yes |
| Bulk scanning | Yesup to 200 cards, or one photo of a whole binder page | Not stated |
| CSV export | Yes | Not stated |
| Buy and sell inside the app | Nolinks out to live eBay listings | Partlysell through the PSA | eBay Store and Vault |
| Community / forum | Yes | Partlypublic collection links |
“Not stated” means none of PSA app’s official pages we checked describe the feature either way.
What each costs
PSA app
- App: $0. Scan and price, collection, cert verification, submissions, Vault and eBay selling.
- PSA grading: from $59.99 a card. Standard tier; the cheaper Value tiers are paused.
- Collectors Club: $149 or $199/year. Member benefits; Premium includes Card Ladder Pro.
Midpoint
- Free: $0. All prices (raw and graded), price history and sold listings; 2 centering or grading analyses; 2 photo lookups; 3 Chat questions a day; free centering checker on the web (3 a day, no account).
- Weekly: $9.99/week. Unlimited centering, AI grading, photo lookup, bulk and scan-a-sheet, adding cards to your collection, unlimited Chat.
- 6 months: $49.99. Same as Weekly.
- Annual: $79.99/year. Same as Weekly.
Where PSA app is strong
- Submit cards to PSA and track every order, including the grade reveal
- Scan a PSA label to verify the cert
- PSA Vault storage and selling through the PSA | eBay Store
- Huge user base: 4.8 from ~60K iOS ratings
Ratings: iOS 4.8 (59,836 ratings); Google Play 4.5 (10,290 ratings).
Switching to Midpoint
Nothing to move: keep the PSA app for submissions and use Midpoint to choose what goes in them.
Questions
Does the PSA app pre-grade cards?
No. Neither PSA’s app page nor its store listing describes a centering check or grade estimate. Midpoint measures centering and estimates the grade from your photos before you submit.
How much does PSA grading cost now?
PSA’s Standard tier is $59.99 a card (90–100 business days); the cheaper Value tiers are paused, per psacard.com on 2026-10-14.