The short answer
Pick Card Ladder if you invest in cards and want 100M+ historical sales, market indexes and pop reports; it is the deeper data tool. Pick Midpoint if you want to grade smarter: centering measured from a photo, an AI grade estimate and raw-vs-graded prices, with every price free rather than behind a $20/month plan.
Choose Card Ladder if
- You want all-time sales history from 30+ auction houses and marketplaces
- You follow market indexes and pop reports
- You already pay for PSA Collectors Club Premium (it includes Card Ladder Pro)
Choose Midpoint if
- You want to check centering and condition before grading
- You want price history and graded prices without a subscription
- You collect TCGs such as One Piece and Lorcana as well as sports
Feature by feature
| Feature | Midpoint | Card Ladder |
|---|---|---|
| Measures centering from a photo | Yesautomatic outer edge + print frame, 8 handles, ratios and mm | Not stated |
| Estimates the grade (corners, edges, surface) | YesPSA, BGS, CGC and TAG estimates with subgrades | Not stated |
| Identifies a card from a photo | Yes | YesPro, in the apps |
| Reads graded slab labels | YesPSA, BGS, CGC, TAG | Yesreads the cert number |
| Raw (ungraded) market prices | Yes | Yes |
| Graded prices (PSA, BGS, CGC…) | YesPSA, CGC, BGS, SGC, TAG by grade | Yes |
| Price history charts | Yes | Yes |
| Price alerts | Yespush + email | YesPro, email or push |
| Collection value tracking | Yes | YesPro |
| Bulk scanning | Yesup to 200 cards, or one photo of a whole binder page | PartlyCSV upload on the web |
| CSV export | Yes | Not stated |
| Buy and sell inside the app | Nolinks out to live eBay listings | Partlyshows listings from other sites |
| Community / forum | Yes | Partlycollection showcases |
“Not stated” means none of Card Ladder’s official pages we checked describe the feature either way.
What each costs
Card Ladder
- Free: $0. Price guide, card values and statistics, index browsing, daily sales recap.
- Pro: $20/month or $200/year. All-time sales history, collection tracking, camera search, pop reports, price alerts, custom indexes (7-day trial).
Midpoint
- Free: $0. All prices (raw and graded), price history and sold listings; 2 centering or grading analyses; 2 photo lookups; 3 Chat questions a day; free centering checker on the web (3 a day, no account).
- Weekly: $9.99/week. Unlimited centering, AI grading, photo lookup, bulk and scan-a-sheet, adding cards to your collection, unlimited Chat.
- 6 months: $49.99. Same as Weekly.
- Annual: $79.99/year. Same as Weekly.
Where Card Ladder is strong
- 100M+ historical sales from eBay, Goldin, Heritage, Fanatics and 30+ other platforms back to 2000
- Market indexes and a CL Value estimate with a confidence meter
- Pop reports for PSA, BGS, SGC and CGC; threshold price alerts
Ratings: iOS 4.85 (10,847 ratings); Google Play 4.9 (2.24K reviews).
Switching to Midpoint
Card Ladder’s help center documents CSV upload but no collection export. Midpoint has no CSV import yet. The quickest way to move a collection is Bulk → Multiple Cards: photograph each binder page (or a scanner bed of cards) and Midpoint finds every card, identifies it and adds it to your portfolio with its price.
Questions
Is Card Ladder free?
Card Ladder’s free tier is a price guide. Sales history, collection tracking, camera search and alerts need Pro at $20/month or $200/year.
Who owns Card Ladder?
Card Ladder has been part of Collectors Universe, PSA’s parent company, since December 2021, according to its help center.